Love is growing in the street,
Right through the concrete

Friday, 12 August 2011

Claude Debussy - 3 SONATAS / SYRINX

This album is a collection of Debussy's three Sonatas (recorded 1962 - 1966) and the short solo-flute composition 'Syrinx' (1913). Among Debussy's final works, the Sonatas were first performed between 1915 and 1917, and stand as three of his most memorable and majestic compositions. The Flute Viola and Harp Sonata is a composition for a Chamber trio, whilst the Violin and Cello Sonatas are duets with piano. For their length and small arrangements, they might be mistaken for minor works, however in their majesty and sensitivity they are the culmination of a life's work; if not in scale, then in expressive power. Their loose, organic composition allows a great deal of interpretation for performers. Especially on the Cello Sonata, each musical phrase has the intricate possibilities of a verbal utterance. I have heard weaker recorded performances in which the performers saw away as if to a click track, dampening how spontaneous and alive the composition is. This recording is especially worthy of praise for the aborial, contemplative recording of Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp; the sonata which features the most satisfying complexity of interaction. Part III's tilting built and overflowing energy at 2:30-3:20 is executed with perfect, controlled asperity. @320

(R.I.P. Singer Saints, to whom credit belongs)


1. Violin Sonata in G minor: I. Allegro vivo
2. Violin Sonata in G minor: II. Intermede (Fantasque et leger)
3. Violin Sonata in G minor: III. Finale (Tres anime)
4. Cello Sonata in D minor: I. Prologue (Lent)
5. Cello Sonata in D minor: II. Seranade (Moderement anime)
6. Cello Sonata in D minor: III. Finale (Anime)
7. Syrinx for Unaccompanied Flute
8. Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp: I. Pastorale (Lento, dolce rubato)
9. Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp: II. Interlude (Tempo di menuetto)
10. Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp: III. Finale (Allegro moderato ma resoluto)